Labette County Board of Commissioners November 18, 2024

Convene

Chairman Terry Weidert called the regular session of the Labette County Board of Commissioners to order at 9:02a.m. on November 18, 2024, at the Commission Room. Attendance: Cole J. Proehl, Present, Vincent B. Schibi, Present, Terry Weidert, Present.

Others Present for the Meeting

County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, and County Clerk Gena Landis.

Media Present

Ray Nolting with the Parsons Sun.

Board of Canvassers - 9:03 a.m.

Chairman Terry Weidert recessed the Board of Commissioners meeting at 9:03 a.m. and convened the Board of Canvassers to canvass the General Election of November 5, 2024.

The Board of Canvassers confirmed the vote count of 7,866, which were counted through the DS450 Ballot Scanner. Election Clerk Tracy Carnahan revealed the reasons for the two hundred twenty-one provisional ballots; one hundred six complete provisional ballots were counted, and ten partial ballots were counted.

Board of Canvassers - Recessed

Chairman Terry Weidert recessed the Board of Canvassers and reconvened the Board of County Commissioners at 10:00 a.m.

County Clerk

County Clerk Gena Landis left the meeting at 10:00 a.m. to run provisional ballots, and Deputy Clerk Lorrie Boulware took minutes.

Recess

Commissioners recessed their meeting for five minutes and reconvened at 10:05 a.m.

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to approve the minutes of November 12, 2024. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Letter of Support

Commissioners discussed a previous request for a letter of support from Brightspeed and Ideatek. No action was taken.

Wage Scale Increase

Commissioners discussed a possible 2% wage increase that was budgeted for 2025. There was no action taken.

Jail Repairs

Commissioners discussed jail repairs, costs, and a new building. Possible ideas discussed were a task force for 2025 and grant possibilities.

Meeting Cancellations

Commissioners agreed to cancel the meeting for December 23rd, 2024.

County Clerk Gena Landis returned to the Commission Meeting at 10:55 a.m.

Recess

Commissioners recessed their meeting for five minutes and reconvened at 11:00 a.m.

Property Insurance Presentations

The commissioners met with Wood Insurance Company and KCAMP to hear coverage and premium quotes. Chairman Terry Weidert tossed a coin to decide which company would present first. KCAMP won the toss and was allowed to choose to present second.

Bob Wood with Wood Insurance Company, along with representatives from EMC, Inc., presented the coverage amounts and the premium amounts for 2025.

KCAMP Representatives Bob Taylor and David Luke presented the coverage and premium amounts for KCAMP. KWORCC representative Colin Holthaus presented the workers compensation coverage and premium amounts.

The following premium amounts were presented:

EMC coverage including work comp. \$351,309.00 The work comp portion alone costs \$64,940.00 CFC Cyber Insurance. \$17,710.85

KCAMP coverage excludes workers compensation but includes cyber insurance. \$259,490.00

KWORCC coverage for workers compensation. \$1,000.00 deductible \$51,618.00

No deductible \$53,768.00

Board of Canvassers Convened

Chairman Terry Weidert recessed the Board of Commissioners at 1:00 p.m. and reconvened the Board of Canvassers. The provisional ballots were added to the totals bringing the grand total of votes cast to 8,003.

Chairman Terry Weidert made a motion to authorize the commission signatures on the official election abstract. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Board of Canvassers - Adjourned

Chairman Terry Weidert adjourned the Board of Canvassers at 1:03 p.m. and reconvened the Board of County Commissioners.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting adjourned at 1:03 p.m. until 9:00 a.m. Wednesday, November 27, 2024.

Attest	
County Clerk, Gena Landis	Chairman, Terry Weidert