NOTICE OF SPECIAL QUESTION ELECTION LABETTE COUNTY, KANSAS

The Board of County Commissioners, Labette County, Kansas, has hereto before, pursuant to resolution duly adopted, declared it advisable to continue (retain) the current one percent (1 %) County Wide Retailer's Sales Tax for a period of five (5) years from July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2031.

NOTICE is hereby given to the qualified electors of the County that a special question will be submitted at the **General Election held on November 7, 2023** as follows:

Shall the following be adopted?

Shall a County Wide one percent (1%) Retailer's Sales Tax be continued (retained) for a period of five (5) years from July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2031, all pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 12-187 *et seq.* for the purpose of property tax relief?

To vote in favor of the question darken the oval to the left of the word "Yes." To vote in opposition of the question darken the oval to the left of the word "No."

- () YES
- () NO

VOTING PRECINCTS IN LABETTE COUNTY

It is hereby noted that the polls are open between the hours of 7:00 A.M. and 7:00 P.M. at all of the following locations:

Canada Township/Elm Grove Township/Howard Township -

Edna Community Senior Center, 109 S. Labette, Edna

Fairview Township/Hackberry Township - Bartlett Community Church, 710 Main, Bartlett

Labette Township - Meadow View School, 1377 21000 Rd, Parsons

<u>Liberty Township</u> - Center Bethel Church, 1699 18000 Rd, Parsons

Mound Valley Township - Mound Valley Community Center, 505 Hickory, Mound Valley

Mount Pleasant Township - 1st Baptist Church, 400 S. Wabash, Altamont

Neosho Township/North Township - Foursquare Church, 98 Main/Hwy 400 (E. Main), Parsons

Osage Township - Osage Community Center, 109 W. 2nd, Dennis

Walton Township - Westside Christian Church — 5100 W. Main, Parsons

Chetopa City/Richland Township - Mae Lessley Community Center, 22 Maple, Chetopa

Oswego City/Montana Township/Oswego Township - Oswego Community Center, 203 North St, Oswego

Parsons City - 1st Wd (Pcts. 1,2,&3) - First Baptist Church (Lobby New Bldg.) 1621 Main, Parsons

Parsons City - 2nd Wd (Pcts. 1,2,&3) - Municipal Building (Basement), 112 S. 17th, Parsons

Parsons City - 3rd Wd (Pcts. 1,2,3,&4) - First Christian Church, 1500 S. 29th, Parsons

<u>Parsons City - 4th Wd (Pcts. 1,2,3,&4)</u> - Parsons Middle School (Community Room), 2719 Main, Parsons CLOSING OF REGISTRATION BOOKS Pursuant to KSA 25-2310, 25-2311 and KAR 7-23-4.

On the 18th day of October, 2023 the books for registration of voters will close and will remain closed until the 8th day of November, 2023. A citizen of the United States who is eighteen (18) years of age and upwards or will have attained the age of eighteen (18) years at the next election, must register before he or she may vote. When a voter has been registered according to law, his or her registration shall continue to be valid until one of the following occurs: 1. The Voter changes residence, outside of his/her voting precinct boundary. 2. The Voter fails to vote in two consecutive state/federal general elections.

If either of the above occurs, you must re-register. Any person may apply in person or by mail to the County Election Officer to re-register. The application shall be signed under penalty of perjury.

VOTER REGISTRATION

Applications forms shall be provided by any of the following locations during their regular business hours: Office of the County Clerk, Courthouse, Oswego or online www.labettecounty.com; any City Clerk's office; Department of Motor Vehicles; SRS offices, etc.; also available online at the Secretary of States website: votekansas.gov.

ADVANCE VOTING by MAIL: KSA 25-1123.

Any registered voter is eligible to vote by Advance Ballot, beginning Wednesday October 18, 2023 (20 days prior to said General Election). Applications for Advance Ballots are available at the Labette County Clerk/Election Office, PO Box 387, Oswego, KS 67356 or by calling (620) 795-2138. A printable application for an Advance Ballot is available on the county website www.labettecounty.com, or at the Secretary of State website www.sos.kansas.gov. Tuesday, October 31, 2023 is the last day voter may apply for Advance Ballots (to be mailed) for General

RETURNING ADVANCE BALLOTS: KSA 25-1132.

In Person: Ballots must be returned by 7:00 P.M. on Election Day to any Polling Location within the County or to the County Election Office, Courthouse, 501 Merchant, Oswego, KS 67356.

By Mail: Ballot must be postmarked on or before Tuesday, November 7, 2023 (Election Day) and received in County Election Office by Monday, November 13, 2023 (moved to Monday due to Veterans Day being observed on Friday 10th the deadline for receipt of Advance Ballots.)

EARLY VOTING: KSA 25-1122.

Early voting (In House/In Person) is available at Labette County Courthouse 501 Merchant, Oswego (Clerk's Office) beginning Wednesday, October 18, 2023 thru Monday 12:00 (Noon) November 6, 2023.

GENERAL CANVASS: KSA 25-3101, & 3104

The General canvass will be held on Monday, November 20, 2023 in the Commission Room of the Labette County Courthouse.

<u>IMPORTANT NOTE</u>: All Voters must provide Valid Photo ID (Drivers' License, Military ID, Kansas College ID, Kansas ID, or other qualifying ID card) to Vote. For a list of accepted identification and additional information go to gotVoterID.com or call 800-262-VOTE.

The election will be conducted by the county election officer being the County Clerk as provided by law for holding elections, and the method of voting will be by ballot. Registered voters are eligible to vote by advance voting ballot upon application to the County Clerk of Labette County whose address is Labette County Courthouse, 501 Merchant/PO Box 387, Oswego, Kansas 67356 pursuant to K.S.A. 25-1117 et seq.

I have hereunto set my hand and seal this 25th day of September, 2023.

Gena Landis, Labette County Clerk/Election