# Labette County Board of Commissioners May 28, 2024

#### Convene

Chairman Terry Weidert called the regular session of the Labette County Board of Commissioners to order at 9:00 a.m. on May 28, 2024, at the Commission Room. Attendance: Cole J. Proehl, Present, Vincent B. Schibi, Present, Terry Weidert, Present.

### **Others Present for the Meeting**

County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, and Deputy County Clerk Lorrie Boulware.

### **Media Present**

Ray Nolting from the Parsons Sun by phone.

# **City of Chetopa**

Emergency Management Director Charles Morse met with the Commissioners concerning a water main break in the City of Chetopa. Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion for a Disaster Declaration and Proclamation to declare a state of emergency for fourteen days. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

# **Approval of Minutes**

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to approve the minutes of May 20, 2024. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

### Cereal Malt Beverage License Renewal – Good Luck Bait Shop

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to authorize the chairman's signature on the Cereal Malt Beverage License renewal for Anthony D. Housley dba Good Luck Bait Shop, 1807 24000 Road, Parsons. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes).

### Public Works – Used Motor

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to authorize the Public Works department to obtain a 3208 Cat motor from Brent Hucke in exchange for the installation of two 18" culverts. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes).

## **Transient Guest Tax Discussion**

A discussion was held concerning the distribution of the transient guest tax that is collected by the State and sent to the Treasurer periodically. A proposal was made that the Treasurer disburse the tax funds evenly to the cities of Oswego, Edna, Altamont, Chetopa, and Mound Valley once the fund balance reaches at least \$2,000. County Counselor Brian Johnson will create a resolution for the May 31, 2024 meeting.

### Recess

Commissioners recessed their meeting for five minutes, and reconvened at 9:30 a.m.

### **Budgets**

Sheriff Darren Eichinger met with the Commissioners for a preliminary review of the Sheriff and Jail budgets for 2025. He will meet with them again on May 31, 2024.

### Planning & Zoning Update

Planning and Zoning Administrator Mel Hass met with the Commissioners and updated them on a few items concerning Countywide Zoning.

## Budget

County Appraiser DeLinda White met with the Commissioners to review the 2025 budget for her department.

#### **Accounts Payable**

Chairman Terry Weidert made a motion to approve the following checks: Accounts Payable check numbers 34341 through 34419 in the amount of \$368,463.11. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

### **Public Comment**

Several Labette County residents asked questions of or made comments to Commissioners.

#### **Executive Session**

Chairman Terry Weidert made a motion to go into executive session for consultation with our attorney, a matter protected by the attorney-client privilege. To protect the privilege and the board's position (in litigation, potential litigation, administrative proceedings, etc.) Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Also present was County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, for a period of ten minutes to reconvene at 11:20 a.m. in the commission room.

### Adjournment

There being no further business before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting adjourned at 11:23 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. Friday, May 31, 2024.

Attest

Deputy County Clerk, Lorrie Boulware

Chairman, Terry Weidert