Labette County Board of Commissioners February 6, 2023

Convene

Chairman Terry Weidert called the regular session of the Labette County Board of Commissioners to order at 9:00 a.m. on February 6, 2023 at the Commission Room. Attendance: Cole J. Proehl, Present, Vincent B. Schibi, Present, Terry Weidert, Present

Others Present for the Meeting

County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, and County Clerk Gena Landis.

Media Present

Ray Nolting from the Parsons Sun and Jessica Dunn from the Labette Avenue.

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to approve the minutes of January 31, 2023 as submitted. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Indigent Defense Agreement – Adamson– 2023

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to authorize the Board of Commissioners' signatures on an Agreement between the Labette County Board of Commissioners and W. Shane Adamson as Indigent Defense Attorney for the year of 2023 at a rate of \$3,500.00 per month plus any associated expenses. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes)

ARPA Discussion

Parsons Economic Development Director Jim Zaleski and Parsons Community Development Director Laura Moore, discussed ARPA funds and a housing agreement.

Food Commodities Allocation

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to approve the ARPA, 2023 food commodity allocation for distribution from Labette County Emergency Assistance to the following entities: Care Cupboard \$5,000.00, LCC Food Pantry \$5,000.00, Stella Wells \$10,000.00, Wesley UMC \$5,000.00, Safe Haven Outreach \$5,000.00, Labette County Emergency Assistance \$30,000.00, for a total distribution of \$60,000.00. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Child Care Allocation

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to approve a \$30,000.00 ARPA allocation for Grow At Eden Early Learning Center, Parsons. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Memorandum of Understanding – Labette County Rural Water District #4

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to authorize the chairman's signature on a Memorandum of Understanding between Labette County Rural Water Wholesale District #4, and Labette County, Kansas in the amount of \$250,000.00 for Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Fund distribution. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

RWD #7

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to approve the new proposal for Rural Water District #7 to change their project to the purchase of water meters in the amount of \$92,000.00. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Resolution 2023-7-A

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to authorize the Chairman's signature on Resolution 2023-07-A, an addendum updating the original 2018 Housing Study conducted by Richard Caplan & Associates. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes)

Kansas Criminal Justice Information System Committee

911 Dispatch Director Brandy Scott spoke with Commissioners about the possibility of being able to accept payment to serve on the State Board of Kansas Criminal Justice Information System Committee. Per statute, board members can be paid \$35.00 plus mileage from the State of Kansas, for attending meetings. Commissioners agreed that they had no problem with Ms. Scott, or other salaried employees serving on state boards, receiving such payments for service.

Recess

Commissioners recessed their meeting for five minutes, and reconvened at 10:13 a.m.

Great Plains Industrial Park (GPIP/GPDA) – Updates

Great Plains Development Authority Director Brad Reams, gave Commissioners updates on property and grant opportunities.

KDOT PROJECT

Parsons City Administrator Debbie Lamb and Parsons Economic Development Director Jim Zaleski spoke with Commissioners about an upcoming bridge project scheduled to begin later in the year north of Parsons.

Executive Session

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl made a motion to go into executive session for non-elected personnel, to protect the privacy of the individual(s) to be discussed. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Also present was County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, Sheriff Darren Eichinger, Undersheriff Clifford Davis and Jail Administrator Brian Harlow, for a period of fifteen minutes to reconvene at 11:10 a.m. in the commission room

Executive Session

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to go into executive session for non-elected personnel, to protect the privacy of the individual(s) to be discussed. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Also present was County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, Sheriff Darren Eichinger, Undersheriff Clifford Davis and Jail Administrator Brian Harlow, for a period of twenty-five minutes to reconvene at 11:37 a.m. in the commission room.

Additional Jail Staff

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to authorize Sheriff Darren Eichinger to hire three additional jail staff members, two positions would be corrections officers starting at a Range 18, and one would be jail transport, starting at a Range 27, payable from the Jail Budget. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting adjourned at 12:04 p.m. until 9:00 a.m. Monday, February 13, 2023.

Attest

County Clerk, Gena Landis

Chairman, Terry Weidert