# Labette County Board of Commissioners December 31, 2024

#### Convene

Chairman Terry Weidert called the regular session of the Labette County Board of Commissioners to order at 9:00 a.m. on December 31, 2024, at the Commission Room. Attendance: Cole J. Proehl, Absent, Vincent B. Schibi, Present, Terry Weidert, Present.

# **Others Present for the Meeting**

County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, and County Clerk Gena Landis.

#### **Media Present**

Ray Nolting with the Parsons Sun.

Commissioner Cole J. Proehl joined the meeting at 9:04.

## **Approval of Minutes**

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to approve the minutes of December 16, 2024. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

# **Interlocal Agreement**

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to authorize the Chairman's signature on an Interlocal Agreement between the City of Altamont and Labette County for a Neighborhood Revitalization Plan that will be in effect for five years after approval from the Kansas Attorney General. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

### Resolution 2024-45-A - Transfer from Road & Bridge Fund to Special Bridge Reserve Fund

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion that the Board of Commissioners adopt and execute Resolution No. 2024-45-A transferring from the Road and Bridge Fund under K.S.A. 68-1135 et seq. \$104,979.17 to the Special Highway Improvement Fund (Fund #142). Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

# Resolution 2024-46-A – Transfer from Road & Bridge Fund to Special Highway Reserve Fund

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion that the Board of Commissioners adopt and execute Resolution No. 2024-46-A transferring from the Road and Bridge Fund under K.S.A. 68-141G et seq. \$100,000.00 to the Special Bridge Reserve Fund (Fund #142). Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

# Resolution 2024-47-A – Transfer from Road & Bridge Fund to Special Highway Improvement Fund

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion that the Board of Commissioners adopt and execute Resolution No. 2024-47-A transferring from the Road and Bridge Fund under K.S.A. 68-141G et seq. \$100,000.00 to the Special Machinery Fund (Fund #144). Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

### Recess

Commissioners recessed their meeting for five minutes and reconvened at 9:30 a.m.

## Resolution 2024-48-A – Transfer from Sheriff Budget to Sheriff Vehicle Reserve Fund

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion that the Board of Commissioners adopt and execute Resolution No. 2024-48-A transferring from the Sheriff Budget under K.S.A. 19-119 (a) \$178,079.48 to the Sheriff Vehicle Reserve Fund #147. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

## **Executive Session**

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to go into executive session for non-elected personnel, to protect the privacy of the individual(s) to be discussed. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Also present was County Counselor Brian Johnson, County Clerk Gena Landis, Sheriff Darren Eichinger and Undersheriff Greg Haraughty, for a period of ten minutes to reconvene at 10:12 a.m. in the commission room.

### **Sewer District #1 Discussion**

Emergency Manager Charles Morse discussed issues regarding the Sewer District #1.

# Appraiser's Parcel Search Agreement – Jason Lehman/JWL Appraisal

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to authorize the Chairman's signature on an Appraiser's Parcel Search Agreement between Labette County and Jason Lehman/JWL Appraisal; the fee of \$225.00 has been paid. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes).

# **Cybersecurity Insurance**

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to increase the cybersecurity insurance to two million dollars in coverage for an increase of \$156.00 per year. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes).

## Resolution No. 2024-44-A – Mound Valley Township Treasurer

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to appoint Lisa Junken to replace Ken McNickle as Mound Valley Township Treasurer, to serve until replaced or reassigned. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

### **Accounts Payable**

Chairman Terry Weidert made a motion to approve the following checks: Accounts Payable check numbers 36197 through 36346 in the amount of \$940,779.10. Vincent B. Schibi seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

## **Payroll**

Chairman Terry Weidert made a motion to approve the following checks: Payroll check numbers 1804 to 1805 in the amount of \$4,558.09 and Direct Deposit numbers 825999 through 826120 in the amount of \$382,609.17 for a total amount of \$387,248.26. Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes).

#### **Executive Session**

Commissioner Vincent B. Schibi made a motion to go into executive session for consultation with our attorney, a matter protected by the attorney-client privilege. To protect the privilege and the board's position (in litigation, potential litigation, administrative proceedings, etc.) Cole J. Proehl seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Cole J. Proehl (Yes), Vincent B. Schibi (Yes), Terry Weidert (Yes). Also present was County Counselor Brian K. Johnson for a period of five minutes to reconvene at 11:14 a.m. in the commission room.

<b>Adjournment</b> There being no further business before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting adjourned at 11:11 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. Monday, January 13, 2025.
Attest

Chairman, Terry Weidert

County Clerk, Gena Landis