Office of the Kansas Secretary of State

2020 Election Information \equiv

LABETTE COUNTY Primary Election –Tuesday, August 4 General Election –Tuesday, November 3

Candidate Filing Deadlines

Primary Election: Noon, Monday, June 1 Independent Nominations: Noon, Monday, August 3

Offices to be elected or retained

- U.S. President / Vice President
- One U.S. Senator
- All four U.S. Representatives(2nd)
- All 40 State Senators(15th&13th)
- All 125 State Representatives(1st&7th)
- State Board of Education (#2,4,6,8,10)N/A

Filing Fees

Precinct Committeepersons – All

- 2 Kansas Supreme Court Justices 4,6¹
- 7 Kansas Court of Appeals Judges- 2,3,4,6,8,9,14¹
- District Court Judges (41 retained, 46 elected)¹
- District Magistrate Judges (15 retained, 36 elected)¹
- All 6 District Attorneys (DG, JO, RN, SG, SN, WY)
- County Officials: Commissioners 2nd&3rdDistricts Clerk, Treasurer, Register of Deeds, Attorney, Sheriff, Twp Trustee & Treasurer – CA/EG/FV/HA/HO/

LI/MT/MV/MP/NE/NO/OG/OS

¹ as of Aug. 6, 2019

Office Filing **GEC/SOS** Independent Total Party Candidates Candidates³ Fee Fee Fee US President / Vice President NA NA NA N/A 5,000 **US** Senator \$1,740 \$20 \$1,760 D-4,505;R-8,001 4% or 5,000 **US** Representative \$1.740 \$20 \$1.760 2% party 4% or 5,000 State Senator \$75 \$70 \$145 2% party 4% voters State Representative \$50 \$70 \$120 2% party 4% voters State Board of Education \$25 \$70 \$95 200 voters 200 voters Supreme Court² N/A \$20 \$20 N/A N/A Court of Appeals² N/A \$20 \$20 N/A N/A District Court Judge (elected) \$1.287 \$70 \$1.357 2% party 4% voters District Court Judge² (retained) N/A \$70 \$70 N/A N/A District Magistrate Judge (elected) \$100 \$70 \$170 2% party 4% voters District Magistrate Judge² retained N/A \$70 \$70 N/A N/A **District Attorney** \$1,287 \$70 \$1,357 5% SOS vote 5% SOS vote **County Offices** 1% of salary \$50 N/A 3% party 4% voters County Commissioner 2nd Dst D-30vtrs; R-67vtrs 194vtrs \$289 \$50 \$339 County Commissioner 3rd Dst \$289 \$50 \$339 D-31vtrs; R-36vtrs 163vtrs County Clerk D-89vtrs; R-162vtrs \$550 \$50 \$600 541vtrs County Treasurer \$50 D-89vtrs; R-162vtrs 541vtrs \$550 \$600 Register of Deeds \$497 D-89vtrs; R-162vtrs \$447 \$50 541vtrs

Petition Requirements

Office of the Kansas Secretary of State

County Attorney	\$780	\$50	\$830	D-89vtrs; R-162vtrs	541vtrs
Sheriff	\$637	\$50	\$687	D-89vtrs; R-162vtrs	541vtrs
Township Trustee	\$1	N/A	\$1	N/A	N/A
Township Treasurer	\$1	N/A	\$1	N/A	N/A
Precinct CommitteeMan	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Precinct CommitteeMan	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Precinct CommitteeWoman	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A

²Judicial officers who are appointed and retained in office, rather than elected, pay only the GEC/SOS fee. ³Independent candidates may file for office only by petition. Upon filing a valid petition and paying the GEC/SOS fee, the candidate's name will be placed directly on the general ballot. An independent candidate must be registered as an unaffiliated voter. Percent requirements for petitions are based upon the total number of registered voters in the district as provided by KSA 25-205 and 25-303. Salary Information Sources: US Senate Secretary, US House of Representatives Chief Clerk; Kansas Division of Personnel Services; Kansas Office of Judicial Administration; Labette County Clerk – Payroll Department.

Labette County Commission Districts

DISTRICT #1 Oswego City – Wards 1, 2 & 3; Chetopa City – Wards 1, 2,& 3; Parsons City 2nd Ward – Precincts 2 & 3; All of the following townships Fairview, Hackberry, Liberty, Montana, Neosho, North, Oswego & Richland.

DISTRICT #2 Parsons City 3rd Ward – Precincts 3 & 4(Appleton St. South to the city limit line); All of the following townships Canada, Elm Grove, Howard, Labette, Mound Valley, Mount Pleasant, Osage & Walton.

DISTRICT #3 Parsons City 1st Ward – Precincts 1, 2 & 3; Parsons City 2nd Ward – Precinct 1; Parsons City 3rd Ward – Precincts 1 & 2 (North of Appleton); Parsons City 4th Ward – Precincts 1, 2, 3 & 4.