Labette County Board of Commissioners September 8, 2020

Convene

Chairman Lonie R. Addis called the regular session of the Labette County Board of Commissioners to order at 9:00 a.m. on September 8, 2020 at the Commission Room. Attendance: Lonie R. Addis, Present: T. Douglas Allen, Present, Fred E. Vail, Absent.

Others Present for the Meeting

County Counselor Brian K. Johnson, and County Clerk Gena Landis.

Media Present

Ray Nolting from the Parsons Sun.

Approval of Minutes

Commissioner T. Douglas Allen made a motion to approve the minutes of August 31, 2020 as submitted. Lonie R. Addis seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), T. Douglas Allen (Yes), Fred E. Vail (Absent).

Social Security (FICA) Deferral

County Counselor Brian Johnson and County Clerk Gena Landis explained the Social Security (FICA) Deferral that the President of the United States signed on August 8, 2020. Employees and employers can defer FICA taxes from payroll through the end of the year 2020. The tax would then be recouped in payroll periods January through April of 2021. Commissioners also viewed an email sent by Labette County Auditor Rodney Burns, in which he recommended that the county not opt in on the deferral. Commissioners decided not to opt in on the FICA Deferral.

Federal Fund Exchange – Request for Reimbursement

Commissioner T. Douglas Allen made a motion to authorize the chairman's signature on the Federal Fund Exchange Request for Reimbursement. The total amount originally allocated was \$139,287.82 minus \$13,928.78, the twenty-five (25) percent which will be held by the state of Kansas, leaving the balance of \$125,359.04 to be reimbursed to Labette County. Lonie R. Addis seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), T. Douglas Allen (Yes), Fred E. Vail (Absent).

Memorandum of Understanding – City of Oswego

Commissioner T. Douglas Allen made a motion to authorize the chairman's signature on a Memorandum of Understanding between the City of Oswego, and Labette County, Kansas for Coronavirus Relief Fund distribution. Lonie R. Addis seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), T. Douglas Allen (Yes), Fred E. Vail (Absent).

Memorandum of Understanding - Labette Center for Mental Health

Commissioner T. Douglas Allen made a motion to authorize the chairman's signature on a Memorandum of Understanding between the Labette Center for Mental Health, and Labette County, Kansas for Coronavirus Relief Fund distribution. Lonie R. Addis seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), T. Douglas Allen (Yes), Fred E. Vail (Absent).

SPARK

Parsons Economic Development Director Jim Zaleski, and Emergency Manager Charles Morse discussed details of the Strengthening People and Revitalizing Kansas (SPARK) program. Mr. Zaleski informed Commissioners that Labette County received their spending plan approval and can start distributing funds.as outlined in the memorandum.

Commissioner Vail

Commissioner Fred E. Vail joined the meeting at 9:31 a.m.

Public Hearing – Labette County 2021 Budget

Chairman Lonie R. Addis opened the public hearing for the Labette County 2021 Budget, as published in the official county newspaper and certified by the County Clerk, at 10:00 a.m. for public or commission comment. There were no comments. The public hearing was closed at 10:01 a.m.

Commissioner T. Douglas Allen made a motion to adopt, execute and authorize the Board of Commissioners' signatures on the Labette County 2021 budget with the amount of Ad Valorem Tax of \$8,654,693 and a mill levy of 61.538; Labette County's 2020 mill levy was at 61.635. Fred E. Vail seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), T. Douglas Allen (Yes), Fred E. Vail (Yes).

Public Hearing - Special Districts 2021 Budgets

Chairman Lonie R. Addis opened the public hearing at 10:03 a.m. for the following Special Districts as published in the official county newspaper and certified by the County Clerk. There was no public comment so the public hearing was closed at 10:04 a.m.

Commissioner T. Douglas Allen made a motion to execute and adopt the following 2021 Special Districts Budgets as presented and also to authorize the Board of Commissioners' signatures on the adopted budgets: Neosho Drainage District – 77.302 mills, Labette No. 9 Fire District – 3.469 mills, Edna Elm Grove Cemetery – 2.666 mills, Mound Valley Cemetery – 3.562 mills, Oak Hill Cemetery – 3.684 mills, Oswego Cemetery – 5.039 mills, Pleasant Valley Cemetery – 2.998 mills, Labette Township – 2.702 mills and Richland Township – 1.346 mills. Fred E. Vail seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), T. Douglas Allen (Yes), Fred E. Vail (Yes).

Recess

Commissioners recessed their meeting to reconvene at 10:10 a.m.

MOU Signature Authorization

Commissioner T. Douglas Allen made a motion to authorize Chairman Lonie R. Addis to sign all future Memorandum of Understanding documents that need signed so the process of distribution can move forward. Fred E. Vail seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), T. Douglas Allen (Yes), Fred E. Vail (Yes).

Chairman Lonie R. Addis then signed all MOU's that Parsons Economic Development Director, Jim Zaleski, had received.

Commissioner Vail

Commissioner Fred E. Vail left the meeting at 10:35 a.m.

Health Fair Discussion

Commissioners discussed the upcoming employee health fair, and what changes will need to be made to the fair due to COVID-19.

Emergency Management Department Vehicle Discussion

Commissioner T. Douglas Allen made a motion to authorize Emergency Management Director Charles Morse be able to purchase a truck, through the Sheriff's Department, payable out of County General Fund. Lonie R. Addis seconded the motion. The motion passed by vote: Lonie R. Addis (Yes), T. Douglas Allen (Yes), Fred E. Vail (Absent).

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Board of Commissioners, the meeting adjourned at 11:03 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. Monday, September 14, 2020.

| Attest | |
|---------------------------|--------------------------|
| | |
| County Clerk, Gena Landis | Chairman, Lonie R. Addis |